Posted by: Simon Lewis | 09/12/2011

Farewell, Twitter

Why I’m flying the nest from from this sexy bird

 

After literally minutes of deliberation and soul-searching I have decided to split-up from Twitter.  To many this will come as a shock, especially given my often public eulogising of her.  But all good things must come to an end and after three years I’ve decided enough is enough.

In many ways I’m an old-fashioned sort of a guy so rather than packing up my stuff and splitting, I left a note on the kitchen table for when Twitter returned from her gym class.

Click on the letter image below to read how I ended the affair…

 

You can now find me mainly hanging out on LinkedIn.  My profile.

Simon Lewis | Editor | Only Marketing Jobs


Responses

  1. I completely understand how you feel Siomon. As a fairly new member of twitter I have to admit to being quite old fashioned as a person (despite my young age) and know instinctively that it bodes well to be careful and keep a sense of balance on how much of my time gets spend on ‘chirping’. Do keep us posted as to how you decide to spend your freed up life energy from this point onwards.

  2. I feel your pain bro. Twitter is indeed a biatch! No-should ever let any SM platform get so important that they can’t walk away from it at any time.
    If anyone really needs to get a hold of you, they’ll know where to go. I’m nowhere near your level, but I’ve no idea why 1,200 people are following me.
    I’ll see you around of course, but I won’t miss you on twitter, because I don’t really read my twitter stream anyway (does anyone?)

    As Cheryl Cole famously sung “Too much of anything can make you sick”.

    • Thanks for taking time to comment, Stephen. You will see me around, of course, and to an extent Twitter has played a part in getting us ‘together’because in the early days we hung out in the same crowd on there. But that was then. For me, there are other places to check out and, who knows, it be that I’ll finally get around to understanding how Facebook works!


Leave a comment

Categories